## PRESS RELEASE



Contact: Joy Burwell jburwell@AOPAnet.org 571/431-0817

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## 2019 Thranhardt Award Winners Announced

WASHINGTON, D.C., July 17, 2019 – Tiffany Graham, MSPO, CPO, LPO, FAAOP, Kelly Millay, MPO, and Andreas Hahn, PhD, MSc, are the recipients of the 2019 Howard R. Thranhardt Award. The Award, established in 1996 by a gift from J.E. Hanger in memory of Howard R. Thranhardt, CP, has become one of the most distinguished honors in the orthotics and prosthetics profession. The winners will present their research at the 2019 American Orthotic and Prosthetic Association National Assembly in San Diego on September 26.

"The American Orthotic and Prosthetic Association is proud to announce the 2019 Thranhardt Award winners. They represent the best in orthotic and prosthetic patient care," said Jim Weber, MBA, President, American Orthotic and Prosthetic Association. "The Thranhardt Lectures have become a highpoint for National Assembly attendees. We look forward to celebrating the winners in San Diego."

Graham and Millay will present *Significant Factors in Orthotic Treatment of Asymmetrical Brachycephaly*. Graham received her bachelors in Engineering Science from Trinity University and her MSPO from the Georgia Institute of Technology. She has focused her career in pediatric orthotics and has over 10 years of experience with treating cranial deformations. Graham is an instructor at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Vice-Chair of the Academy's Craniofacial Society, and recipient of the 2018 Thranhardt Award. Millay received her BS in Bioengineering from University of Louisville and her MPO from University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. She is currently an orthotic resident at University of California at San Francisco and a member of the Academy's Craniofacial Society. Her research interest focuses in cranial deformations.

Hahn will present *The Use of Health Economic Instruments to Evaluate Prosthetic Services: Experience with Over 400 Patients in Germany and India.* He joined Ottobock in 2004 and currently holds the global corporate responsibility for Ottobock's Clinical Research activities. Hahn is a physicist at Oxford University, has over 20 years professional experience in leading positions in the Medical Device Industry, and was a 2014 Thranhardt Award winner.

More information about the 2019 National Assembly is available at www.AOPAassembly.org.

About the American Orthotic and Prosthetic Association (AOPA): Through advocacy, research, and education, AOPA improves patient access to quality orthotic and prosthetic care. AOPA, based in Alexandria, VA, is the largest non-profit organization consisting of more than 2,000 O&P patient care facilities and suppliers, dedicated to helping O&P businesses and professionals navigate the multitude of issues surrounding the delivery of quality patient care.